SANTA FE, N.M. (KRQE) – New Mexico ordinance mandating quarantine for out-of-state visitors from high-risk countries was updated on Wednesday, September 23. The list of states that visitors and incoming residents are from has changed and must be quarantined.
Low / High Risk Card and Frequently Asked Questions: What Are New Mexico Travel Restrictions?
To prevent the risk of spreading COVID-19, Colorado, Oregon, and Rhode Island were added to the list of high-risk states as of Wednesday. Individuals arriving from these states must be quarantined for 14 days or for the duration of their stay in the state of New Mexico, whichever is shorter.
Additionally, Michigan and Hawaii transitioned from high to low risk based on their rolling positivity and testing rate.
As of Wednesday, the list of high-risk countries includes: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
The state quarantine order requires that individuals who have come to New Mexico from states with a positivity rate of 5% or greater via a 7-day moving average or a positive test rate of more than 80 per 1 million residents are physically different from others Must separate in a dorm or place of accommodation for a minimum of 14 days from the date of their entry into New Mexico or for the duration of their presence in the state, whichever is shorter.
Individuals arriving from states with a positivity rate of 5% or less above a moving average or a positive test rate of less than 80 per million residents do not need to self-quarantine.
Self-quarantine is still recommended for people arriving from these states. Individuals traveling from lower risk states are recommended to be tested for COVID-19 within five to seven days of arriving in New Mexico.
Individuals who can provide documentation of a valid COVID-19 negative test performed within 72 hours prior to or after entering New Mexico are exempt from the 14-day quarantine requirement, regardless of which state they are from have traveled. People who have taken a COVID-19 test will need to self-isolate or quarantine while waiting for the results of their test. This exception does not apply to people entering New Mexico after traveling outside of the United States.
Individuals who are quarantined upon arrival from a high-risk country are allowed to leave their place of residence or the place of accommodation where they are only quarantined for medical care.
Individuals who are self-quarantined should not allow anyone else to enter the residence or place of placement where they will be quarantined, with the exception of those providing medical care, emergency response, or others designated by the Department of Health provide. Family or household members can visit a quarantined person. However, these visitors must self-quarantine for at least 14 days.
Individuals who do not comply are subject to involuntary quarantine by the New Mexico Department of Health under the Public Health Emergency Response Act.